Skip to content

What it means to be a sanyasin.

June 22, 2009

seek_285

I have had an extremely regular practice (3-4 times a week) for 4 years before i gave birth to L almost 2 years ago. Ever since then, i had a hard time to get back into a regular practice that surpasses the once a week practice or even establishing a home practice. I decided to be easy on myself. I have been committed to writing and researching for my business and working on the skills that have been on the back burner for lots of years: sewing, crafting and knitting. Lots of knitting. 

Last weeks yoga class – and especially the message resonated with me thus urging me to share my findings with you , my readers. The Bhaktishop in Portland, OR has been the home of my practice since beginning of this year. With the financial crisis that effects Portland with an unemployment rate of 12% , Lisa-Mae and Diana had invited one of their teachers, a astrologer to come to the shop for a workshop. Unfortunately i haven’t been there but Diana gave a quick insight into the message: This coming year it’s all about 

Back to Basics and use the Bhagavad Gita as your guide. The story of the Gita is the story about war. How Arjuna is set out to fight on the battlefield and all of a sudden recognizes members of his family at the opposing side. Troubled and full of doubt he puts his weapons down and engages in a dialog with Lord Krishna. In the end, Lord Krishna convinces Arjuna to follow his calling because what needs to be done just needs to be done. 
Of course i was wondering what war and Yoga could possibly have in common? How can non-violence (ahimsa) and war can ever be intertwined?

I spoke with Katie, a dear friend of mine, who happened to study with Sharon Gannon and David Life, the founders of Jivamukti in NY about 10 years ago. She explained to me that David once told them that Yoga is not at all about relaxation, or fitness, or flexibility. Not at all! It’s about artificially creating a situation of extreme stress for the body and learning to breath through it. The more often you do it, the easier it gets for you to be able to breath through stressful situations in your life just as you do while practicing yoga. How ingenious is that? I love this explanation.

Don’t we all judge ourselves? Didn’t i just do it at the beginning of this post? I judge (celebrate) if I manage to do a complicated arm balancing pose. And i judge myself if i can’t do a simple eagle. I am good if i go to yoga more then twice a day and am bad if i only go once. 

I haven’t read the Gita. Not in its entirety at least. For those of you who are interested, there is an abbreviated version available as iPhone app.

From → Seek

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

