Skip to content

Sewing Japanese – simple shift dress

December 14, 2009

Last Thursday was Andy’s work Christmas party. The entry ticket was the red lace Nike Soccer just launched in Europe in conjunction with project RED. So everybody had to wear it somehow. I had seen a dress with a similar tiered skirt part at Una – possibly my favourite boutique in Portland even though it’s mainly for window shopping right now. The dress had the tiered part in the front and was made in a real nice plaid. I really wanted the tiered part in the back however.
I decided to use a wool fabric that i snatched up at the Pendleton outletstore for $5 a yard!!! Love that place – where else can i get real wool for that price?

I used Dress 8 from one of my one of my japanese sewing books – Mama girl wardrobe (ISBN978-4-8347-2756-2)- as the base. But i changed up the pattern quite a bit. Here’s what i did: divided the bodice from the skirt panel at the low waist, cut the skirt part on the bias, raised the neckline and slimmed down the sleeve significantly. I also cut the tiers on the bias and left them and the bottom hem raw edged but sewed a stay stitch for stability.
At last, i stitched on the lace on the back – as an eye catcher.

For sure i was the only one wearing the lace on my bottom.
The style is quite a nice tunic worn over jeans. Without the lace however.

From → Stitched up

One Comment
  1. I love this dress and your photos!!! Your so cute.

Leave a Reply

